Subscribe Now

Trending News

By using this website, you agree to the use of our cookies.

Anambra Election: Women Are Still Not Vying For Political Positions

In the last few years, women have been encouraged to occupy political positions in the country, as part of the efforts to encourage development as women have been historically sidelined in political activities and appointments.

Following several campaigns bringing awareness to the dearth of women’s participation in politics, certain political actors began to appoint more women in their cabinets as more women became involved in politics. Still, women’s participation in political activities has been significantly lower than men and this is showcased in the upcoming Anambra State elections scheduled to hold in November 2021.

Low Turnout of Women In Anambra

Ahead of the Anambra governorship election, the apex body for conducting elections in Nigeria, the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) has published names of successful political parties and their Governorship and Deputy Governorship candidates who are eligible to contest the Anambra state gubernatorial poll.

In the list released by INEC, a total of 18 political parties are expected to participate in the election while a total of 36 candidates are qualified.

Out of the number of candidates eligible for the election, only six are women. Out of the 6 women, only 2 are vying for the governorship seat while the remaining 4 are candidates for the deputy governor position.


INEC Follows Court Order

According to the remark by INEC, the All Progressives Grand Alliance (APGA) and the People’s Democratic Party (PDP) were marked “Court Order.” While Chukwuma Michael Umeoji is listed as an APGA candidate, the PDP has no recognised candidates vying for the seat due to a case in court.

In a statement released by the commission last week Friday, INEC said it upholds the judgments and court stands served on it in lieu of the primaries conducted by the political parties and other stages which led to their outcome.

The Chairman of the Commission on Information and Voter Education Committee (IVEC), Mr Festus Okoye, assured that INEC remains committed to the law and will hold on to it for the success of the election coming up in November.

“The Commission will continue to act in consonance with the Constitution and the law and will continue to obey the judgments and orders of courts served on it.”

The governorship candidates and political parties enumerated by INEC include:

1. Ekene Alex Nwankwo – (A)

2. Doreen Ifeoma Maduka-Arisa – (AA)

3. Obi Sylvester Chukwudozie – (AAC)

4. Akachukwu Sullivan Nwankpo – (ADC)

5. Prince Ume-Ezeoke Afam Luke Douglas – (ADP)

6. Emmanuel Andy Nnamdi Uba – (APC)

7. Chukwuma Michael Umeoji – (APGA)

8. Eze Robinson Chukwuma – (APM)

9. Azubuike Philip Echetebu – (APP)

10. Chika Jerry Okeke – (BP)

11. Agbasimalo Obiora Emmanuel – (LP)

12. Ohajimkpo Leonard Emeka – (NNPP)

13. Adaobi Uchenna Okpeke – (NRM)

14.  …………. (PDP)

15. Nnamdi Nwawuo – (PRP)

16. Ekelem Edward Arinze – (SDP)

17. Ifeanyi Patrick Ubah – (YPP)

18. Ugwoji Martin Uchenna – (ZLP)

This story has been heavily edited by Campus Reporter to improve readability.

Related posts

Leave a Reply

Required fields are marked *

Copyright © 2024. All Rights Reserved.