Subscribe Now

Trending News

By using this website, you agree to the use of our cookies.

Electoral Workers Protest Non-Payment Of Entitlements In Enugu

Electoral workers engaged for the local government election in Enugu State last month, on Monday, protested alleged non-payment of their entitlements by Enugu State Independent Electoral Commission, ENSIEC.

The workers said they were yet to be paid for their work one month after the election held.

According to one of them, Jane, who spoke to CAMPUS REPORTER, their presence was requested at the ENSIEC office for settlement of their settlement of their entitlements on Monday. But on getting to the ENSIEC office, Jane said said she and her colleagues were disappointed as they were given five thousand naira each.

She said the the five thousand naira “is a poor payment and very unfair to the staff after risking their lives.”

Disappointed, the aggrieved staff then marched in protest to Micahel Okapra Square, Enugu, where the 17 chairmen of the LGAs – who had who had emerged from the election in which staff were allegedly not paid – were being inaugurated.

They carried placards, demanding settlement of their entitlements. But officials later calmed them and assured their grievances had been noted, in a bid to ensure the inauguration was not disrupted.

The ceremony had in attendance: the Deputy Senate President Ike Ekweremadu; the state governor Ifeanyi Ugwuanyi; Chief Justice of the state, Hon Miletus Eze; president of Ohaneze Ndigbo in the state, Alex Ogbonna. 

In the governor’s speech, he commended the indigenes of the state for their continuous support to his administration and also applauded the Enugu state independent electoral commission for their “professional management of the entire electoral process during the election.” 

He went further to admonish the new chairmen to “discharge their mandate, honestly, effectively and creditably and also ensure their campaign promises is fulfilled in full measure.” 

He also stated that the “first quarter of 2018 will witness an agricultural revolution.” 

All the 17 newly inaugurated chairmen are members of the Peoples Democratic Party.

Related posts

Leave a Reply

Required fields are marked *

Copyright © 2024. All Rights Reserved.