Subscribe Now

Trending News

By using this website, you agree to the use of our cookies.

LASU Students Win Mamman Marshal Scholarship For Women in Journalism

It has been quite a month for the Lagos State University, LASU as two of its students, Samiat Ajayi and Ajoke Aremu, both 200 level students of the School of Communication, won the 2021-2022 Mamman Marshal Scholarship For Women in Journalism, MMSWJ.

The Mamman Marshal Scholarship for Women In Journalism (MMSWJ) started in 2017 to celebrate a man who, against societal constraints, educated his daughters, giving them an advantage that set them apart from their peers. The scholarship award is set up by the daughters of Mamman Marshal.

The scholarship covers tuition and accommodation of the selected female students from  Bayero University, Kano (BUK), University of Uyo and Lagos State University (LASU) until the completion of their degree programs. The criteria for selection includes a female undergraduate student from any of the aforementioned institutions who needs financial assistance and so far, about five students from LASU have benefited from the scholarship scheme.

Samiat Ajayi

In an interview with the beneficiaries, Samiat divulged that she was informed about the scholarship award through a flyer sent on the Association of the Campus Journalists, ACJ’s WhatsApp group chat and it was also sent by some of her friends. She explained that “My parents were my major drive and the thought of how it’ll relieve them of the financial burdens  prompted me to apply for the scholarship and words alone can’t be used to express how happy and pleased I was when I told them about my recent feat.”

Ajoke Aremu

On the other hand, Ajoke heard about the scholarship through one of her lecturers, Dr. Jide Jimoh, who posted it on her departmental group chat. According to her,  “I never wanted to apply for the scholarship but  God just made me [do it] despite the fact that I submitted the essay late. Yet, I was still given the scholarship award. Personally, this is a miracle I didn’t see coming.”

The 2021-2022 MMSWJ beneficiaries are both members of the Association of Campus Journalist ACJ, LASU Chapter and are also presenters at Richieart FM, a student-owned  online radio station.

Related posts

Leave a Reply

Required fields are marked *

Copyright © 2024. All Rights Reserved.