Subscribe Now

Trending News

By using this website, you agree to the use of our cookies.

Oyo Gov. Ajimobi Wins APC Senate Ticket

Oyo State Governor Abiola Ajimobi has won the All Progressives Congress ticket to contest the Oyo South Senatorial District election in 2019.

Mr Ajimobi clinched the ticket after polling 2,659 votes to defeat Fola Akinosun, who had 168 votes, in the primary election held in Ibadan, Oyo State capital, on Wednesday.

Mr Ajimobi was in the Senate between 2003 and 2007 as a member of the Alliance for Democracy.

We gathered that Mr Akinosun left the venue before the final collation of the results from the nine local government areas for undisclosed reasons.

Meanwhile, while addressing journalists after being declared the winner by the chairman of the electoral panel, Demola Serike, Mr Ajimobi commended the conduct of the exercise, despite the earlier delay.

“I wish to bring to fore my parliamentary experience to grow a Nigeria that the next generation will be proud of,” said the Governor. “I look forward to going back to the Red Chamber to contribute my quota to the national debate and the progress of the nation.”

Elsewhere in Oyo State, Abdulfatia Buhari won the APC ticket to return to the Senate as the representative of Oyo North Senatorial District. In that district, the House Leader in the Sixth Assembly, Mulikat Akande won the Peoples Democratic ticket.

In Oyo Central, Lukman Ilaka, a former commissioner at the Nigerian Deposit Insurance Corporation, won the PDP ticket.

Related posts

Leave a Reply

Required fields are marked *

Copyright © 2022. All Rights Reserved.