Subscribe Now

Trending News

By using this website, you agree to the use of our cookies.

PREMIUM TIMES’ Journalists, Others Shortlisted For West Africa Media Excellence Awards

Two Premium Times’ Journalists, Kemi Busari and Oladehinde Olawoyin have been shortlisted for West Africa Media Excellence Awards.

Mr Busari, who covers the Senate, and Mr Olawoyin, a business correspondent, were listed among the 18 finalists that will be honoured by The Media Foundation for West Africa (MFWA) at its awards ceremony scheduled to hold on October 13 in Ghana.

According to the organizers, the competition received over 600 entries from 12 countries across West Africa from both Francophone and Anglophone countries.

The three-member panel of judges after a thorough review of the entries shortlisted 18 finalists for seven out of 14 categories.

“The event will be graced by distinguished diplomat and the Special Representative of the UN Secretary-General and Head of UN Office for West Africa and the Sahel, Dr Mohamed Ibn Chambas,” said the organisers on their website.

Other shortlisted finalists for WAMECA 2018 are Kingbewe Yao Hervé, Banuto (online) (Benin), Justice Baidoo, Multimedia Broadcasting Limited, (Ghana), Anthony Acarus Stephen, Power FM/TV), (Liberia), Anthony Akaeze, TELL/ICIR, (Nigeria) and Manasseh Azure Awuni, Multimedia Broadcasting Limited, (Ghana)

Adam Alqali, African Newspage (Nigeria) Mame Diomma Dramé, Ouestafnews, Senegal, Odimegwu Onwumere, (Nigeria) Voice, (Nigeria), Ridwan Karim Dini-Osman, GHOne TV, (Ghana), Sawadogo Afsétou, Sidwaya (Burkina Faso), Seth Kwame Boateng, Multimedia Broadcasting Limited (Ghana), Bayo Olupohunda, (Nigeria), Nabaloum Abdel Aziz, Sidwaya (Burkina Faso), Richard Kwadwo Nyarko, Multimedia Broadcasting Limited, (Ghana), Victor Ekwealor, Techpoint, Nigeria and Daryl Kwawu, Multimedia Broadcasting Limited (Ghana).

The winners for the various categories including the overall best West African journalist will be announced at the Awards event.

“Winners will receive plaques, certificates and cash prizes. All finalists who are not winners in the various categories will also receive certificates of merit,’ the organisers said.

All 18 finalists will also be inducted as fellows of the MFWA’s Journalism for Change Network and will be offered regular training opportunities both locally and internationally to enhance their capacity to influence positive change in society through journalism.

The West Africa Media Excellence Conference and Awards (WAMECA) is supported by MTN-Ghana, GCB Bank, Stanbic Bank and the US Embassy in Ghana. The event is also supported by several media partners across West Africa.

Related posts

Leave a Reply

Required fields are marked *

Copyright © 2022. All Rights Reserved.