Subscribe Now

Trending News

By using this website, you agree to the use of our cookies.

Unilorin students elect new Students’ Union Leadership

With an 86-vote difference between him and the first runner-up, Okoko Wisdom Oluwaseun, politically known as ‘Passion,’ has emerged the new Students’ Union president of the University of Ilorin, Kwara State.

The Unilorin Independent Student Electoral Commission’s (UISEC) Chairman, Ahmed Aluko, announced the result by 9:15 pm on Tuesday, the 2nd of July, in the auditorium basement.

Passion, a student of the Faculty of Education polled 2,611 votes, defeating his nearest political rival, Sanni Abdulqudus Olarewaju, also known as Asiwaju, who received 2,525 votes.

The current Senate Council Chief Whip, representing the Faculty of Environmental Science, Bagbansoro Uthman Olamilekan, also contested but lost the presidential race after polling a total of 1,718 votes.

Amongst the results announced, was that of the Office of the Vice President, which was won by the outgoing Deputy Senate Clerk, Muhammed Fatimah Temitope (Teemah), who won 1,862 votes. 

The incumbent Assistant General Secretary, Ajede Khadijah Olarewaju (Bankz) received 1,201 votes to emerge as the General Secretary and the only returning CEC member.

According to Chairman Ahmed: “A by-election will be conducted at the Faculty of Pharmaceutical Science where there’s only one senator, instead of three allocated to each faculty.”

The Dean of Students Affairs, the sub-dean Dr Alex Akanmu Morenikeji, agents of each political aspirant, members of UISEC and some faculty electoral chairmen were present at the results announcement.

The counting of the results started by 6 pm but was delayed due to a power outage.

After all the results had been published, students remained in a celebratory mood until the end of the evening. 

Related posts

Leave a Reply

Required fields are marked *

Copyright © 2024. All Rights Reserved.