Subscribe Now

Trending News

By using this website, you agree to the use of our cookies.

UNIZIK SU inaugurates new leaders

The Students’ Union of the Nnamdi Azikiwe University, Awka, on Thursday inaugurated new leaders.

Those present at the inauguration ceremony were Vice Chancellor Joseph Ahaneku, Dean of Student affairs Stanley Udedi, and Kingsley Ubaoji amongst others.

The election which brought to power Joseph Okafor as president, Uwah Cynthia as Vice-president, and seven others as executives of the union was held in June. Miss Uwah Cynthia is the only female among the executives.

The inauguration of these new leaders took place at the leadership centre of the students’ affairs unit of the University.

The Vice-Chancellor in his remark at the inauguration congratulated the outgoing student leaders on a job well done during the time spent as leads. He encouraged the new leaders to emulate and even better the good qualities of past executive and improve on their lapses.

Mr Ahaneku also cautioned the students on how they got involved in the upcoming elections asking that they make sure not to do anything that will jeopardize the good name of the school as the school does not involve in partisan politics.

He promised to be available for the students in the little but sufficient time he has as Vice Chancellor of the university.

Mr Udedi, the Dean of student affairs expressed his happiness towards the Vice Chancellor’s visit for the first time to the unit.

He mentioned that he believes that by the next convocation ceremony all ongoing projects within the university will be completed.

The Chief judge of the student union who was sworn in by the Dean of student affairs, in turn, swore in all other executives as stipulates by the union’s constitution.

The new president Joseph Okafor in his acceptance speech thanked the students and the university for the mandate to serve and assured that environmental and health issues will be a major priority for the new administration.

Related posts

Leave a Reply

Required fields are marked *

Copyright © 2024. All Rights Reserved.