Subscribe Now

Trending News

By using this website, you agree to the use of our cookies.

Gboyega Oyetola, the Governor-elect of Osun state.

In the Osun State governorship election which ended with a rerun poll on Thursday, Gboyega Oyetola of the All Progressives Congress was returned winner.

Mr Oyetola was born on September 29, 1954, in Iragbiji, Boripe Local Government Area of Osun. He attended Ifeoluwa Grammar School in Osogbo for his secondary school education which he completed in 1972.

He proceeded to the University of Lagos where he bagged a Bachelor of Science honours degree in Insurance in 1978. He wrapped it up with a Master of Business Administration (MBA) in 1990 at the same University of Lagos, Akoka, Lagos.

He is also an Associate of the Chartered Insurance Institute, London and Nigeria and a Member of the Nigerian Institute of Management (NIM).

He started his Insurance career with Leadway Assurance Company, after his NYSC in Maiduguri, in 1980 as an Assistant Manager and rose to the position of Area Manager, Control Office, Lagos.

He at various times worked at the Crusader Insurance as Underwriting Manager and Corporate Alliance Insurance as Controller Technical before he established his own company, Silvertrust Insurance Brokers Limited. He served as the Managing Director since its founding until 2011.

Mr Oyetola was also Chairman of Ebony Properties Limited. He had been a Director of Pyramid Securities Limited, until 2011 and was the Executive Vice Chairman of Paragon Group of Companies with interest in Oil and Gas, Real Estate, Stock Broking etc. until his appointment as the Chief of Staff to the Governor of the State of Osun.

Mr Oyetola was appointed the Chief of Staff to Governor Rauf Aregbesola in Osun state before he was elected Governor of the state.

Some of the awards and honours CAMPUS REPORTER confirmed he received include: The Guardian Award for Exceptional Chief of Staff in the Federation 2017; Distinguished Award of Excellence in Public Administration by Nigeria Union of Journalists, Osun State Council, August 2015; and the Leadership Award for Outstanding Performance by the Nigerian Society of Engineers (NSE), Osogbo Branch, March 2016.

Related posts

Leave a Reply

Required fields are marked *

Copyright © 2022. All Rights Reserved.