Subscribe Now

Trending News

By using this website, you agree to the use of our cookies.

“We Will Continue To Promote Tourism,” – Akeredolu

The Ondo state governor, Arakunrin Akeredolu Oluwarotimi (SAN), has said that he is committed to promoting tourism and protecting the cultural heritage of the Ondo state people.

In a statement released by the Chief Press to the Governor, Richard Olatunde, the Governor emphasised the importance of a museum to the state due to its tourist attractions and noted that the state will continue to encourage the National Commission for Museum and Monuments to build a befitting museum in Akure, the state Capital.

On Thursday the 3rd of March, the Governor gave the assurance in his office while receiving a delegation from the national commission for museums and monuments led by its Director-General, Professor Abba Tijani.

However, Arakunrin has noted that Araromi seaside is an area of interest for the State since the State has the longest coastline and will make a good tourist centre. Additionally, it helps that the beach is less than 40 minutes by speed boat from Lagos.

He also noted that the state government is in partnership with La Campagne Tropicana and will begin the development of the beach soon.

The Director-General, Professor Tijani, who appreciated the governor for coming to the aid of the commission after a fire incident that gutted its building in Akure, emphasised the need to construct a befitting national museum in the central area of the state where the cultural representation and heritage of the people will be properly displayed for tourist attractions and the people.

He also said there are 65 national monuments in Nigeria and an additional 105 that have been proposed to the President of the country, Muhammad Buhari.

Finally, he urged the State Government to ensure that guidance is properly taken care of as it is home to one of the proposed national monuments which will be used as one of the world heritage centres.

Related posts

Leave a Reply

Required fields are marked *

Copyright © 2024. All Rights Reserved.