Subscribe Now

Trending News

By using this website, you agree to the use of our cookies.

INEC declares Lekan Mustapha as Ogun East senator

The Independent National Electoral Commission has declared Lekan Mustapha of the All Progressives Congress (APC) the winner of the Ogun East Senatorial elections

Professor Chris Onwuka served as the Returning Officer who announced the result at the Ijebu Ode LGA collation centre.

Recall that the Independent National Electoral Commission once declared the senatorial results inconclusive due to cancelled votes.

According to the results announced, Lekan Mustapha polled a total number of 85,761 votes to defeat Ayoola Sosanwo of the People’s Democratic Party (PDP) who received 83,528 votes.

Professor Chris Onwuka explained that Ajebandele has 10 polling units and they recorded irregularities in one of the units, unit 006. Subsequently, the results from that unit were cancelled and the remaining 9 units had its results calculated, forming the total numbers announced.

Related posts

Leave a Reply

Required fields are marked *

Copyright © 2022. All Rights Reserved.