Subscribe Now

Trending News

By using this website, you agree to the use of our cookies.

Bayelsa State gets new Speaker of the House of Assembly

Rt. Hon. Abraham Ngobere has emerged as the new Speaker of the Bayelsa State House of Assembly.

Rt. Hon. Ngobere, representing Brass Constituency III, was elected on Wednesday after Rt. Hon. Monday Bubou Edwin Obolo announced his resignation as Speaker of the House of Assembly.

The resignation of Rt. Hon. Bubou-Obolo as the Speaker was occasioned by the recent swearing-in of Sen. Douye Diri, as Governor of Bayelsa State. Governor Diri and the former Speaker hail from the same Bayelsa Central Senatorial District.

This reporter gathered that the development was done in a bid to balance the political equation amongst the three (3) Senatorial Districts in the State.

Also elected were Hon. Michael Ogbere (Ekeremo II) as Deputy Speaker; Hon. Monday-Bobou Edwin Obolo (Southern Ijaw II) as Majority Leader; Hon. (Mrs) Ebiuwou Koku Obiyai (Yenagoa II) as Chief Whip and Hon. Munalayefa Edwin Gibson (Ogbia II) as Deputy Chief Whip of Bayelsa State House of Assembly.

In a recent judgement, the Supreme Court ordered the swearing-in of the PDP candidate, Douye Diri, as Governor of Bayelsa State, after sacking the governor-elect of the state, David Lyon, and his deputy, Biobarakuma Degi-Eremieoyo, a day before their scheduled swearing-in.

Related posts

Leave a Reply

Required fields are marked *

Copyright © 2022. All Rights Reserved.